Posted by: David | November 27, 2009

A Belated Thanksgiving

It’s always good to give thanks, even after Thanksgiving is over. So here’s my version of Guitta’s ABC list, with family, friends, and God left off.

Adulthood. It’s nice not to be a teenager. Sorry, but the best years of my life are still ahead.

Beer–exported, from small breweries, or on tap. Borders Bookstore, too.

Church Calendar. I’m determined to celebrate it this year. What a great way to remember the basics of Christianity and to feel connected with the saints present and past.

Disney cartoons. I can’t wait for David to watch my favorites–Robin Hood, Jungle Book, The Lion King, and Aladdin. Decaf coffee; let’s not forget decaf coffee.

Easter, where all my hopes of resurrection lie.

Flowood Public Library, where you can read for free, IF you remember to turn the books back in on time.

Goodreads.com. As tempting as it is to say, “Look how many books I’ve read,” it’s so nice to have a tool for organizing and writing about what I have been reading over the past few years.

Hot baths. Hospitals, too, especially after David Jr.’s arrival.

Icecream. Buttern pecan with sprinkles.

J. K. Rowling, J. R. R. Tolkien, and “Jack” (C. S.)Lewis

Kisses from Guitta and from Hersheys.

Latin. It’s what earns me the big bucks.

Milkshakes. Chocolate Milkshakes. From Chick-fil-a. Mmm.

Netflix, which has allowed me to watch Northern Exposure.

The Office, though lately the show has taken a turn for the worse.

Politics. For some people, it’s a sport.

Quiet. Why don’t you take five seconds to just shut your eyes and turn off your thoughts? Wasn’t that nice?

Restaurants–Aladdins, Bone Fish, Little Tokyo, and La Cazuela.

Stories, one of the biggest shapers of my life. There’s something else that starts with “s” that I really like, but I can’t remember it right now.

Travel. I haven’t done a whole lot, but I often find myself fantasizing about where I’d go if I had a million dollars. The places I’ve been to have been a lot of fun.

University of Florida Distance Learning Program. I’m so thankful that I can pursue a masters and still work.

Vacations, one of the major perks of being a teacher.

Wine from Chile and Australia, good but under $15.

Xtra strength Tyllenol.

Youtube, the source of so many funny videos and free music.

Zoos. I can’t wait to take David to see the elephants and giraffes.

James 1:17:  Every good and perfect gift is from above, coming down from the Father of the heavenly lights, who does not change like shifting shadows

Responses

  1. Hey, David! You’re so great! I read and loved your whole list!

  2. Great list, David! I’ve got one of my own:

    A for the Alabama Crimson Tide who are ‘fixing’ to win their 13th National Championship.

    B for Books, which have always been my fixation and distraction.

    C for Chicken Livers, fried with hot sauce, peppers and white onion.

    D for the Dixiebelles belting out their raucous 50’s classic, “Down at Papa Joes.”

    E for the humble Esophagus, which greatly assists in proper digestion of food. (see C)

    F for Fair play and Frank speech.

    G for Grand designs and overall schemes.

    H for the Hands which built America.

    I for Iron Maiden who provided plenty of quality loud music for certain teenagers in the early ’80s to blast from their car speakers. (Who, me?)

    J for the wonderful C. Hubert Parry song “Jerusalem”, which sounds just as great coming from a humble church congreation as from Emerson, Lake and Palmer.

    K for the Knight which advances 2 squares up and 1 square across. (and I’m a Bishop whats admittin’ it!)

    L for Long, Languid summer afternoons in the Deep South which stretch on into eternity.

    M for Mint to put into iced tea for the Long, Languid summer…..etc..

    N for Newspapers which are just about to go out of style.

    O for Old timey signage, language, and other sundries representing the “old, weird America.” (as borrowed from Griel Marcus) This is also rapidly disappearing.

    P for Pretty, Petite, Pixie-faced girls, many of whom I have dated in the Past (nostalgia reigns supreme)

    Q for Quality, Quick service at fast food restaurants and other fine commercial establishments. (nostalgia also reigns supreme!)

    R for a Red Ryder BB Gun for which I won’t (hopefully) shoot my eye out. Also, for the rock group Rush (see #I above)

    S for legendary female gymnast Svetlana Boginskaya, still the greatest Byelorussian of them all.

    T for Texas. T for Tennessee. (Also, JR for Jimmie Rogers)

    U for Useless information which oughtta be worth somethin’ some day!

    V for Victory in both Europe and Japan.

    X for Xtra helpings at dinner time.

    Y for Yiddish, especially the type spoken by the great Sid Dithers (“was you flew or did you drove?”)

    and finally, Z for Zebra, whom I saw at the old Town Creek Saloon in the mid ’80’s and the fact that I made it out of there with my life intact!

    Merry Christmas and Happy New Year to all you Hogues! See you soon.

  3. Thanks, George! I like L and M the best.


Leave a Reply

Categories

