Posted by: David | March 8, 2009

Manly Men

I am not ashamed to recognize manliness when I see it. I think manliness is a good thing in men, and there are certain men in the movies who should be recognized for their outstanding manliness. The following is a list of the top sixteen, not in chronological order, and the movies that I liked them in. Do you have any suggestions to add to the list?

1.  Mel Gibson, Braveheart and The Patriot

2.  Sean Connery, The Untouchables.

3.  Liam Neeson, Rob Roy.

4.  Robert De Niro, The Mission and The Godfather, Part 2.

5.  Jeremy Irons, The Mission.

6.  Clive Owen, Gosford Park.

7.  Clint Eastwood, Gran Torino.

8.  Al Pacino, Godfather, Parts 1-3

9.  Ian McKellan, The Lord of the Rings.  (Yes, I recognized the irony here.)

10.  Harrison Ford, Star Wars

11.  Patrick Stewart, X-Men and Star Trek

12.  Chow Yun Fat, Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon

13.  Morgan Freeman, The Power of One

14.  Charlton Heston, Ben-Hur

15.  Jim Caviezel, The Count of Monte Cristo and The Passion of the Christ

16.  Joseph Fiennes, Luther and Enemy At the Gates

Responses

  1. I’m not sure what I think about my husband writing a whole post on manly men. However, I don’t want him writing about women, either. Hmmm….

  2. Okay, so are you saying their roles were manly? ‘Cause I take issue with the inclusion of Clive Owen. I adore Gosford Park, but his role is a role of vengeance and not mercy–how does that make him manly?

    Here are some of my additions to your list:

    Alan Rickman as Colonel Brandon in Sense and Sensibility. He is restrained, mature, loving, and dutiful. What a wonderful character!

    Colin Firth as Mr. Darcy. Tuan says he is a man’s man, so I can, too!

    Viggo Mortenson in LOTR.

    Dennis Quaid in Frequency. Have you seen it? It’s a great movie!

  3. Hugh Jackman, X-men movies
    Daniel Craig, James Bond movies
    Brad Pitt, Fight Club

  4. I’m just amazed you could remember all these actors and movies. whoah.

  5. Christian Bale in 3:10 To Yuma

  6. Liam Neeson in Taken


Leave a Reply

Categories

