Posted by: David | November 26, 2008

Happy Thanksgiving!

Following my wife’s example, I would like to offer God thanks for the abundance of his blessings. Here goes.

Thank you, God, for…

1.  my wife. It is so much sweeter to go through life with her as my friend and my love (amica mea et amator). I love to hear her laugh and see how her smile makes her eyes crease. I appreciate how she helps me see myself in a new light, pointing out areas of improvement and encouraging me with words of praise or compliment. J’adore her spirited nature, her wit, and her interests. Guitta is smart, sensitive, and wise, and she has such good insight for me and others with questions about emotions or relationships. She is efficient and capable, and she is a great driver. I love her long, dark hair, her ivory neck, her nose, her curves, and yes, the little pooch that is making it more and more difficult for her to button her pants. I love just hanging out with her, watching girlie movies like Gilmore Girls or manly movies like Battlestar Gallactica. So here’s to God, who loved me enough to give me Guitta.

2.  our baby. Child, I loved hearing your little heart beat, I can’t wait to find out if you are a boy or a girl in two weeks, and I can’t wait to get to hold you.

3.  my dad. His legacy resides in his children, and every day I benefit from the things he did for us kids and for Mom. I try to read my Bible and pray daily because he insisted that we develop this discipline. I have an enduring picture of uncompromising integrity within me because he tried to live it in front of us. And I have a final picture of humility from someone who struggled with pride for much of his life. God sanctifies. Hallelujah!

4.  my mom.  She is a living example of integrity and sacrifice. Her whole life she has poured herself out for her family. I have only to ask, and I know that she’ll give if she can. I remember being so sick with fever and having her feeding me scraped apple with a spoon, chopped ice bits, Sprite, and Coke; she wiped my forehead with a cold cloth; and she placed packs of ice on my chest to bring down the fever. I could always go to her to talk comfortably about what was bothering me.

5.  my brothers and sisters. What a fun, affectionate bunch! They are a built-in support group, with lots of advice and encouragement to give.

6.  my parents-in-law. They have welcomed me into their home with open arms and poured out an abundance of love and gifts on Guitta and me. We have had so much fun with the two of them in Disneyworld and Florida, and it has been great to get to know them over the countless meals that they have treated us to. Mrs. Jane is so serving and giving. Mr. Joseph is so wise and interested in who my family and I are. I am thankful that both of them have given Guitta a stable home and a good upbringing.

7.  our dog. Cora is a big brown blessing of boundless energy, loyalty, and fun. May she live fifteen more years with us.

8.  my job. My school is a wonderful place to work. I have students who want to learn, kind and dedicated peers, supportive bosses, and sophisticated equipment. I have learned so much about managing a classroom, holding the interest of teenagers, teaching Latin effectively, and many more helpful things.

9. my house. What an improvement to have a kitchen big enough for two people and a dog to fit in comfortably. a fenced-in backyard, two bathrooms, a big tub, and a two-car garage.

10.  good books, movies, drinks, and food.

11.  my church. God’s kingdom has come and is still coming. I am thankful for our church’s unique vision to be multi-ethnic, to minister to the poor neighborhoods of our city, to preach the message of God’s grace in Jesus, to sing songs with “a joyful noise,” and to foster fellowship with small group meetings.

12.  everything that God is for me in Jesus. I am thankful that he is patient as I wrestle through things, that he loves me and wants me to get to know him. that he holds on to me in love even though I don’t think about him or his will much, and that his Spirit is busy purifying my sinfulness and developing holiness. O Father, keep holding on to me! Have mercy on me and my own!

Psalm 100

1 Shout for joy to the LORD, all the earth.

2 Worship the LORD with gladness;
come before him with joyful songs.

3 Know that the LORD is God.
It is he who made us, and we are his;
we are his people, the sheep of his pasture.

4 Enter his gates with thanksgiving
and his courts with praise;
give thanks to him and praise his name.

5 For the LORD is good and his love endures forever;
his faithfulness continues through all generations.

Responses

  1. David,

    How refreshing to hear words of thankfulness in this world of complaining and grumbling! Thanks for reminding me of God’s grace and goodness. Happy Thanksgiving!


Leave a Reply

Categories

