Posted by: David | August 15, 2008

Goodbye, Dad

Last night I had my first dream about Dad since he died in April. I was sitting in Mom’s chair at our kitchen table and all around were different family members–including Dad, who for some reason was not sitting at the head. He had come back to life, but not in any glorified way; he was just like he always was. A younger Benjamin was to my right praying for the meal, and Dad was drinking a glass of wine because he was having some sort of trouble*. Something–chest pain or something else–was clearly bothering him, and he left to go to the dining room. I thought that he was going to die again, and I followed him. He was standing there drinking wine. I began to cry and hug him around his stomach, and I thought, “At least this time I get to tell him good-bye.”

I’m sure that this dream was about regrets. It had been at least two weeks since I had talked to Dad, probably longer, and I really regret that.

* When I start to feel stressed or anxious or have pain in my chest, I drink a glass of wine. I think I was projecting this on Dad in my dream.

Responses

  1. David,

    I have had 2 dreams about Dad that I can remember. In one dream, we were at church and the service had just ended, and we were standing up talking. I noticed in the corner of my eye Daddy. I thought, when I look at him, he will disappear. To my joy, he was still there, leaning on the pew, with his head tilted forward actively listening to our conversation. It was so nice to see him again. I not sure what the dream meant, but it made me think that Dad is watching us as a family. I not sure how biblical that is, but it does say in Hebrews that we are surrounded by a cloud of witness.
    I sorry about your car mirror. It makes you want to pound someone.
    I hope ya’ll are doing well.

  2. David and Michael,
    I feel alittle jealous because I haven’t really had a dream about your Dad and my precious husband. I have prayed that I would but my prayer hasn’t been answered yet!! Thank ya’ll for sharing your dreams and thoughts. One day it will be no more seeing “through a glass darkly; but then face to face”(I Cor. 13:12) What a future!! Love, Mother

  3. I’m sure the dreams will come at the right time. I love you, Mom, and hope you’re doing well.


Leave a Reply

Categories

