Posted by: David | July 16, 2008

On Vacation

The summer months are one of the highlights of teaching. Who else but teachers get such an incredible vacation package? One of the downsides to being away from work, though, is being away from internet and losing contact with this blog. I have therefore finally signed up for internet service at home and should be getting it set up within the week.

Right now, I am in beautiful Florida with my wife and in-laws, enjoying the happy beaches of Panama City for the first time in over three years. We have a luxurious condo on the sixth floor with a spacious balcony overlooking the sleep-inducing waves, much to Guitta’s delight. After only one day of play in the sand and water, I have already turned red as a tomato, despite a generous lathering of sunblock, and I am now swimming in a t-shirt (a more effective sunblock) and smothering myself with cool aloe.

Yesterday, my mother-in-law and I went parasailing for the first time. What a blast! Parasailing, for those who don’t know, is hanging from a parachute that is being pulled by a speedboat. We were both hooked in together, me in front, and after the initial fear of rising 60 feet above the waves, we sat and enjoyed the view and the breeze. Mrs. Jane was a bit wary for most of the time, only releasing her clutch on the harness after the ride was mostly over. The guys pulling us slowed their boat down so that we were lowered to the waves. We thought that we would only skim the waves with our feet, but instead, we were nearly baptized (and not Presbyterian-style). In a moment of crisis, my glasses flew off and, thanks to God’s mercy, I managed to catch them before they hit the water. Whew!

That afternoon, Guitta and I celebrated our second anniversary. It’s hard to believe that we have already made it to the beginning of our third year. She is by far the best thing that has ever happened to me, aside from Jesus, and I can’t imagine life without my friend, confidant, and love. We decided to keep the celebration low key, seeing as we were already at the beach. We did go out to eat at a place called the Red Bar, apparently an RUF favorite. The food was good, but it didn’t knock my socks off or anything. Then, true to the laid back couple we are, we found a Borders bookstore and spent the rest of the evening reading and drinking coffee.

I have pictures to share but no cord to connect the camera to the computer, so those will have to come later. Until then.

Responses

  1. I’d like to try parasailing, although I almost broke my neck on the one and only time I went waterskiing.

    Congrats on your 2nd anniversary and may God bless you and Guitta with many more years together!

  2. David, I’m glad that you and Guitta are having a wonderful time with the Chaibans in Panama City. Happy belated anniversary, Bro, to you and your beloved. Love to you all! J


Leave a Reply

Categories

