Posted by: David | January 1, 2008

New Year’s Resolutions

Guitta laughs at my penchant for making out to-do lists. Well, let her laugh. One of my all-time favorite to-do lists is New Year’s resolutions. And if any of you care to know, here are some items that made it this year.

1. Apply to graduate school. Unfortunately, it looks like most have deadlines that are already expired, but Tulane is looking promising. It’s close to home, it’s respected, and the classical studies program looks strong. Pray for me as I consider this.

2. Relearn Greek. I never quite got the hang of it in college, having to rely heavily on memorization of texts. It’s a tough language–the verbs have six principle parts, for crying out loud! Anyway, as I ponder graduate school more seriously, I realize that I’m going to have to pick this back up.

3. Finish Guitta’s project table. This was on the to-do list for last summer, and Guitta is rightly skeptical that I’m going to complete it. I guess carpentry is just not one of my strengths.

4. Implement a healthy diet and exercise program. A small voice in the nether regions of my mind has been suggesting for some time now that I may not be eating the most beneficial foods. My reply has always been, “Hey, I’m in my 20’s. Relax. I can worry about that later.” My doctor, however, has added his voice to the other one, telling me for over a year now that my cholesterol (what’s that?) is too high. I suppose I ought to start taking some sort of action. As for the exercise part of this resolution, Guitta’s parents generously bought us membership at the YMCA, and the two of us have been attending.

5. Try to corral monthly spending into a well-structured budget. Perhaps Starbucks should not be our number three monthly expenditure.

6. Learn about church history. This one should probably be on your resolutions list, too. I mean, how many of us really know what happened between 70 and 1500? Knowing that might give us a little perspective. I picked up A Short History of Christianity by Stephen Tomkins and will try to leave a review on the “Beloved Books” section of this blog.

7. Give serious thought to mercy ministry. This is another thing that has been on my mind for a long time. I’m pretty sure that the Bible thinks this is important, maybe more important than understanding predestination.

8. Get i-pod up and running. It’s time to download some tunes. There’s nothing like Cake’s “Going The Distance” to pump you up for a workout.

9. Woo my wovely wife with gifts, surprises, and notes. This may be number 9, but it and number 7 are the most important for the year. Since romance doesn’t come naturally for me, I’m making a concerted effort. Gotta keep those kisses comin’.

Responses

  1. Your resolutions overlap a bit with ours! Living out here, I always want to go to Jxn and eat out when we can get away–way too expensive!

  2. 4. nether regions…. HA HA HA (ask Guitta)

    5. Starbucks should be #1!

    7. Stu wants to plan a mission trip to Peru – you and Guitta should come!!!

  3. Dear David,

    I am almost certain that you will accomplish nothing that you have set out to accomplish this year. You have neither the character nor stamina to do any of these things. You should just give up and go lie in bed and eat ding dongs.

    -Negative Nathan

  4. Thanks for the encouragement, Nathan. On another note, JP doesn’t allow us access to xanga, which means I won’t get to read/mock your site as often as I would like. But I will add you to myblogroll.


Leave a Reply

Categories

